Creating a Community Free of Violence

Riverview Center provides sexual assault services in a 14 county Northeast Region of Iowa, as well as sexual or domestic violence services in Jo Daviess and Carroll Counties in Illinois. Our services are free regardless of biological sex, gender identity/expression, sexual orientation, immigration status, English proficiency, race and/or ethnicity, incarceration status, disability or background. Riverview Center is a safe space.

Our History

In 1992, Vickie Gratton, the Galena Police Department Nurse, and Faye Clarke, a mental health therapist, witnessed gaps in the services available to sexual assault survivors in Jo Daviess County, resulting in a lack in prosecution and blatant disrespect. To provide better options for those in need, Vickie and Faye founded the basis for what was to become Riverview Center.

In June of 1992, a board of directors was formed with the guidance of the Illinois Coalition Against Sexual Assault (ICASA). The board voted to provide services in Jo Daviess County as Riverview Center. Between 1996 and 2005, Riverview Center’s services were expanded into Carroll County, Illinois, Dubuque, Iowa, and Delaware and Buchanan Counties to provide these crucial services for sexual assault survivors.

In 2010, Riverview Center was approached by CHOICES, the domestic violence services provider for Jo Daviess and Carroll Counties, to merge the two agencies’ operations. Riverview Center’s and CHOICES’ staff worked together as one agency to ensure continuity of services for domestic violence survivors in Northwest Illinois.

As of July 1, 2013, the state of Iowa shifted to a six-region model for the provision of sexual assault prevention and intervention services. Riverview Center was chosen to serve 11 additional counties in Northeast Iowa, including Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Howard, Jones, Linn, and Winneshiek Counties.

As an agency, Riverview Center is unique in that we are the only agency in the 14 county Northeast Region of Iowa providing sexual assault services, and we are the only agency providing either sexual or domestic violence services in Jo Daviess and Carroll Counties in Illinois.

Our services are free regardless of biological sex, gender identity/expression, sexual orientation, immigration status, English proficiency, race and/or ethnicity, incarceration status, disability or background. Riverview Center is a safe space. Our services are available to anyone affected by these crimes and their non-offending family members.

Our Locations and Staff

Administration

Joey Taylor, Riverview Center

Joey, Executive Director
joey@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

Jonathan Chambers - Riverview Center

Jonathan, Program Director (Iowa)
jonathan@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Teresa Dane - Riverview Center

Teresa, Program Director (Iowa)
teresa@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

Cathy McDermott - Riverview Center

Cathy, Clinical Director/Therapist
cathym@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 1996

Coral, Grants & Publications Director

Coral, Grants/Publications Director
coral@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2010

Anne Heim - Riverview Center

Anne, Program Director (Illinois)
anne@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2008

Amy Niemer - Riverview Center

Amy, Director of Development/Public Relations
amyn@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Gwen, Director of Development/Public Relations

Gwen, Director of Development/Public Relations
gwen@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

Dana Fessler - Riverview Center

Dana, Director of Human Resources
dana@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Connie Kieffer - Riverview Center

Connie, Fiscal Director
connie@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2010

Brandi, SART Coordinator

Brandi, Rural SART Coordinator
brandi@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2015

Abby M., Volunteer Coordinator

Abby, Volunteer Coordinator
abbymc@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Sarah Leif - Riverview Center

Sarah, Crisis Services Coordinator
sarahl@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Cedar Rapids

685 9th Avenue
Marion, IA 52302
319-540-0080
Serving Linn, Benton, Buchanan and Jones Counties

Abby M., Volunteer Coordinator

Abby, Sexual Assault Advocate
abby@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Riverview Logo - Tree

Amanda, Sexual Assault Advocate
amandat@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Clare - Riverview Center

Clare, Preventionist/Advocate
clare@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Lindsey Piper - Riverview Center

Lindsey, Sexual Assault Therapist
lindseyp@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Nicole Moore - Riverview Center

Nicole, Sexual Assault Therapist
Nicole@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Decorah

1111 South Paine Street, Suite F
Decorah, Iowa 52101
563-380-3332
Serving Allamakee, Chickasaw, North Clayton, Howard, North Fayette and Winneshiek Counties
* Hablamos Español

Riverview Logo - Tree

Nikki, Sexual Assault Therapist
nikki@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

Riverview Logo - Tree

Lacy, Sexual Assault Advocate
lacy@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Dubuque

2600 Dodge Street
Dubuque, IA 52001
563-557-0310
Serving Dubuque, Delaware and South Clayton Counties

Kristen, Preventionist

Kristen, Preventionist
kristen@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Sarah S., Sexual Assault Therapist

Sarah S., Sexual Assault Therapist
sarahs@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2006

Shelby, Sexual Assault Advocate

Shelby, Sexual Assault Advocate
shelby@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Cathy Esser - Riverview Center

Cathy E, Sexual Assault Therapist
cathye@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2009

Waterloo

2055 Kimball Avenue, Suite #355
Waterloo, IA 50702
319-939-9599
Serving Black Hawk, South Fayette and Bremer Counties
* Hablamos Español

Beverly - Riverview Center

Beverly, Sexual Assult Therapist
beverly@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Kelly K - Riverview Center

Kelly, Sexual Assault Advocate
kellyf@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

Rachel Sharkey - Riverview Center

Rachel S., UNI Campus Coordinator
rachels@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016
Office location: Cedar Falls, IA – UNI Campus

Raechel, Preventionist

Raechel, Preventionist
raechel@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2015

Rosario, Sexual Assault Advocate for Marginalized Populations

Rosario, Bilingual Sexual Assault Advocate
rosario@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Galena

705 S Dodge Street
Galena, IL 61036
815-777-8167
Serving Jo Daviess County

Megan A., Sexual Assault Advocate/Illinois Volunteer Coordinator

Megan A., Sexual Assault Advocate/Illinois Volunteer Coordinator
megana@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Megan F., Sexual Assault Therapist

Megan F., Sexual Assault Therapist
meganf@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Riverview Logo - Tree

Renee, Domestic Violence Counselor
reneed@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Robyn Davis - Riverview Center

Robyn, Domestic Violence Advocate
robyn@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Katie B., Preventionist

Katie B., Preventionist
katieb@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2018

Mount Carroll

855 S Mill St., Suite 200
Mount Carroll, IL 61053
815-244-7704
Serving Carroll County

Devin, Sexual Assault Therapist

Devin, Sexual Assault Therapist
devin@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Kate Brondyke - - Riverview Center

Kate, Preventionist
kate@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2016

Lacee, Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Advocate

Lacee, Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Advocate
lacee@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

Tammy Huenefeld - Riverview Center

Tammy, Domestic Violence Advocate
tammy@riverviewcenter.org
Serving Riverview Center since 2017

The Board

Kirsten Williams – President
Maestro Health

Erick Kephart – Vice President
American Trust Retirement

Lisan Adams – Treasurer
Dubuque Bank & Trust

Josh Boots – Secretary
Loras College

Nicole Breitbach
Dubuque American Red Cross

Sarah Netolicky
Kerndt Brothers

Michael Fleming
University of Northern Iowa

Sam Glab
Morrison Bros. Co.

Dr. Hesper Nowatzki, DNP, FNP-BC
Optum Housecalls

Susie Quinn
Dubuque Driving Academy

Sarita Koneru
Community Volunteer

Mary Weck
Community Volunteer

Riverview Center Staff

Join Our Team

Interested in joining the staff here at Riverview Center? To volunteer, follow this link to fill out the volunteer application, or check back to find openings for non-volunteer positions.

Annual Impact Report